Heathrow to Bangkok

Heathrow to Bangkok
London, United Kingdom

London, United Kingdom


Turned up at the West London Car Boot Sale (aka Heathrow Terminal 4) far too early for the flight to Bangkok dreaming of some light retail therapy followed by some oysters. Sadly, all they seemed to sell was Swarovski crystal pigs and faux St Andrews golf caps, neither of which were high on our lists. Headed for the BA lounge, another part of the airport that is in urgent need of a face lift. It has all the design aesthetic of a Regus office in Basingstoke and the staff seem to have been to the Monty Python Cheese Shop school of customer service. Can I have some tea? – ask the beverages manager. Can I reserve my seats back as an executive card member? – ask reservations. Still, better than strap hanging with the rest of the passengers. We were flying Premium Economy thanks to BA Miles earned on a number of US trips last year. It is worth the difference but I’m not sure I would be saying this if I was paying cash. On the flight Elly was quite ill and the staff, particularly Holly, were wonderful. A thousand blessing on you Holly. Arrived in good shape in Bangkok and jumped on the shuttle to the Novotel Suvamabhumi, which while not the Oriental is a good place to crash if overnighting in Bangkok. About $130 a night and it has the word’s most comfortable mattresses. If I could steal one I most surely would. While Elly chilled out I nipped downstairs for a Larb Talay and a duck curry both so authentic and reassuringly spicey they blew the last vestiges of my cold into the Chao Priya river. I am now totally free of London coughs and sniffles.

Leave a Reply

